Author Topic: Is that an OS in your pocket?  (Read 23575 times)

Offline hotrats

• View Profile
Is that an OS in your pocket?
« on: August 14, 2008, 09:20:02 pm »
I started playing with USB bootable OS's. Staples had a five pack of PNY 1 giggers for about $40 with $10 off. I picked up a pack and started to play. So far I have settled on ...

1. BackTrack 3
2. Ubuntu - Hardy Heron (with bootable mt86plus)
3. BartPE (my imaging tool)
4. Ophcrack (Why? Cause it rocks to play!)

Still trying to decide on the fifth stick. I got addicted to Hardy Heron so I did a complete install on an IBM X41 tablet. I got it joined to the domain at work and trying to see what I can do with Linux on the job. So far I am having a great time with it.

Anybody else playing with bootable USB. I'm still hunting down a fifth one to occupy the last USB. I'm toying with loading FreeDOS. Any suggestions?

David

Offline Weave

• Senior Illustrious Potentate
  • Shazam!
    • View Profile
    • MisterWeave Blog
Re: Is that an OS in your pocket?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2008, 03:29:49 pm »
I want to, but haven't yet. My latest has been CDR bootables - mainly Ubuntu and it variants. Imessed with Mandriva (Mandrake in another life) and managed to get wifi to roll on my laptop (once). Hmmm... I have a 2 gig drive I'd love to play with when I get time. I also keep looking at the mini-notebooks - almost bought one today, as a matter of fact. Not a need, but a want, sir.
Take care,
Weave

Offline digiSal

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • digiSal
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2008, 06:24:05 pm »
you guys used UNetbootin to make this bootable things? http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/

and Weave, I could never get encrypted wifi to work on linux unless it was using WEP :(

Offline hotrats

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2008, 05:29:17 pm »
you guys used UNetbootin to make this bootable things?