Author Topic: Windows 7 Starter Thoughts  (Read 10616 times)

Offline Weave

• Senior Illustrious Potentate
  • Shazam!
    • View Profile
    • MisterWeave Blog
Windows 7 Starter Thoughts
« on: March 13, 2010, 09:35:49 am »
The setup - I am currently on the front porch, it is slightly overcast and upper 50's. I'm listening to Pandora's New Age Ambient Station with the wind chimes and birds embellishing the tunes in a pleasant way, and smoking (I picked it back up after the work situation got tense and I need to have my tail kicked for doing it) and thinking about Windows 7 Starter.

I have made no secret of the fact that Windows 95 was my favorite OS. I know it had it's problems, but it was a fast, minimal OS that let YOU build it from the ground up. You could still remove IE 3 if you wanted. It fit in 80 Megs or less, and it was plenty fast enough for what I did with it. No USB, no WIFI, so now it can't do what I need of it.

I started playing with Windows 7 Beta awhile back - in fact it was one of the things that zorched my previous laptop. Windows 7 didn't - but I thought the "burn your own backup discs" utility my Acer Aspire had would protect me and get me back to first boot (stalled on disc 2 of 9). This was the full "Pro" version, and I liked it about as much as any other OS on M$'s offerings. The UAC wasn't quite as annoying as Vista (in Vista I just disabled it - yeah, I clicked the program and I don't need to tell you three times I want to run it). It seemed a bit faster. It would run most of my old software. And then my laptop was overheating - not Windows 7's fault - the Aspire I had had hardware issues that were overcome with software that was Vista specific. The laptop would freeze and I just put it up.